Joint Online Workshop of WCTR SIG F1 and AUM

February 17th, 2021

Impact of COVID-19 on transport and spatial development: an international perspective

Background and objective

The new corona virus pandemic has frozen human activities and urges to rethink urban systems. In most countries, the pandemic is not under control yet. It remains uncertain how long it will take to overcome the restrictions, and how life after the pandemic might differ from life before the pandemic.

Given these uncertainties, we will hold a free workshop to stimulate the discussion and research on the interaction of transport and spatial development during and after the pandemic among members and friends of SIG F1 in WCTRS and AUM.

 

Schedule :

Thursday, 25 February 2021 (Chaired by Rolf Moeckel)

Time*

Name

Affiliation

Title

Key Note Address

15:00

Mike Batty

University College London

The Socially-Distanced City

Travel Behavior Research and COVID-19

15:15

Giovanni Circella

University of California, Davis

Studying the temporary vs. longer-term impacts of the pandemic on mobility

15:25

Chandrima Mukhopadhyay

Ahmedabad University, India

Impact of Covid-19 on urban transport in Indian cities

15:35

M. Shafiq-Ur Rahman

Jahangirnagar University

Impacts of COVID-19 on Mobility of Elderly and Disabled People

15:45

Ana Luísa Silva

ONG Lalana

Covid-19 impacts on the peri-urban mobility of women and vulnerable households in Madagascar

Land Use Implications of COVID-19

15:55

Joris Beckers

Universiteit Antwerpen

The local shop and last mile specialist as the winner of COVID-19?

16:05

John Douglas Hunt

University of Calgary

Using the PECAS Model of Alberta to Anticipate and Respond to the Spatial Economic and Transport Impacts of COVID-19

Transit and COVID-19

16:15

Elenna Dugundji

CWI - National Research Institute for Mathematics and Computer Science

Determining the Effect of Lower Public Transit Frequencies in COVID‑19 Timetables on Perceived Door‑to‑door Travel Times

16:25

Rounaq Basu

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Ugsying new mobilities for post-COVID transit recovery strategies

16:35

Haixiao Pan

Tongji University

Rail transit passengers before and after the epidemic. A case study in Shanghai

16:45

Mattia Borsati

Bocconi University

Questioning the spatial association between the spread of COVID-19 and transit usage in Italy

16:55

Final remarks, Rolf Moeckel

Technical University of Munich

17:00

Adjourn

 

Thursday, 11 March 2021 (Chaired by Ying Jin)

Time*

Name

Affiliation

Title

Key Note Address

15:00

Robert Noland

Rutgers University

Street Space Allocation and Active Travel: Will COVID-19 change anything?

Telework

15:15

Graham Currie

Public Transport Research Group, Monash University Australia

Long term/post-pandemic impacts of COVID-19 on commuting in Melbourne, Australia

15:25

Taru Jain

Monash University

COVID-19 and Working from Home: Long-term Impacts and Psycho-social Determinants

15:35

Anna Reiffer

Institute for Transport Studies - Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

Analyzing the effects of new forms of work on travel demand

15:45

Jago Dodson

Tiebei Li

RMIT University

Commuting patterns in Melbourne: Assessing short-run and longer term COVID impacts

Micromobility

15:55

Tim Jones

Oxford Brookes University

Investigating English local authority response to the UK governmentfs Emergency Active Travel Fund (EATF)

16:05

Haitao He

Loughborough University

How did micromobility change in response to COVID-19

Policy Implications

16:15

John Omwamba

UN-Habitat

Impact and Resilience of Transport to Covid-19 Through Policy and Governance in Selected African Countries

16:25

Beatriz Mella Lira

Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile

Transitions to mobility during deconfinement. Co-production of mobility and urban development strategies during the sanitary crisis.

16:35

Lucy Budd and Stephen Ison

De Montfort University, Leicester, UK

Responsible Transport for Urban Mobility in a post-COVID world

16:45

Anson Gock

Delaware Department of Transportation

Exploring the Relationship between COVID-19 and Crash Patterns

16:55

Final remarks, Ying Jin

University of Cambridge

17:00

Adjourn

 

* Time in Central European Time. Other start times are 06:00 (Los Angeles), 9:00 (New York), 14:00 (London), 15:00 (Munich), 22:00 (Beijing), 23:00 (Tokyo), 1:00 (Sydney)

 

Venue:

Online (Zoom). Zoom link will be provided to participants who are registered to this workshop. You can register at the link below.

https://tinyurl.com/yzb5qweq

We also provide a discussion board on Facebook. The registered e-mail addresses are uploaded for preapproval. If you want to use the other e-mails for the facebook accounts, please send member requests in the facebook or send e-mail to the following contacts.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/wctrsigf1ws2021/

Note:

The workshop will be recorded for the participants whose time zone is midnight at the workshop. Publication policy will be announced soon.

Contact:

Masanobu Kii (kii.masanobu@kagawa-u.ac.jp)

Rolf Moeckel (rolf.moeckel@tum.de)